Posted in Uncategorized

Last Meal Plan Monday of January

Guten morgen!

Happy Monday to one and all. I am in chipper spirits this morning. My home life has been pretty hectic lately, and I have not gotten to spend very much time with my hunny in the last month or so. That is all changing. We have some big projects that are wrapping up, and life will go back to moving at a reasonable pace. Yay!

I would like to take a minute to reflect on the past few weeks of meal planning. I feel like I have found a working system. Meal planning has had so many benefits: my family is excited about dinner (and more grateful) because the meals/recipes, planning is amazing for my budget, less time is spent at the grocery store, and my moral is up because I feel like I am doing a good job.

A note about the Fruity Oatmeal Bake. You will notice that this recipe has become a staple on the menu. It is so delicious, and my kids loved making it. The one change we made was substituting another cup of old fashioned oats instead of the steel cut. Other than that, we love it!!

That being said, I would like to jump into these week’s meal plan!


Menu


My Salsa and Guacamole Recipe:

Verde Salsa

  • 8 tomatillos, de-husked and quartered
  • 1 white onion, peel removed and quartered
  • 1 jalapeno, de-seeded and halved
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, chopped
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  1. Pre-heat broiler.
  2. Place tomatillos, onion, garlic, and jalapeno on baking sheet.
  3. Rub olive oil all over vegetables.
  4. Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste
  5. Roast 4 inches below broiler for 4-5 minutes, turn, and roast for another 5 minutes.
  6. Remove from head and place all roasted vegetables, cilantro, and juice of one lime or lemon into blender.
  7. Blend until mixture is a course puree.

Cheater Guacamole

  • 2 avacados
  • 1 cup verde salsa (from above recipe)
  • lime or lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  1. Cut, remove seed, and scrap pulp of avacado into a bowl.
  2. Add salsa, 1/2 tsp salt, a little lime/lemon juice to same bowl and mix together (I use a potato masher or throw it all in the blender).
  3. Add additional salt, pepper, and lemon juice to taste.

A couple changes to the format that I am trying out are that I took out the list (right sided column) that housed ingredients for breakfast, lunches, snacks, and drinks. They were filled with what needed, but I am not sure how helpful they are to all of you.

Find this weeks grocery list here.

If you want them put back, please leave a comment below.

Have a great day!

Neta

Leave a Reply

